Log in
Log in


2023 Recipient/Récipiendaire de l'année 2023

Dr. Beatrix Beisner

Professor, Department of Biological Sciences/ Département des Sciences Biologiques
University of Quebec at Montreal/ l'Université du Québec à Montréal , QC

The 2023 Rigler awardee is Dr. Beatrix Beisner, professor at the University of Quebec at Montreal. Her research focuses on plankton community ecology, with research themes encompassing biodiversity and invasion ecology. Over her research career so far, Dr. Beisner has trained 14 postdoctoral fellows, 24 PhD students, and 28 MSc students, and published over 100 peer-reviewed articles that have had lasting impact on the field. Some of Dr. Beisner’s most significant contributions include work on aquatic community dynamics as they relate to climate change and the application of functional ecology in planktonic communities. Her paper on alternative stable states in ecology (Beisner et al. 2003) has been particularly well cited across disciplines. Dr. Beisner is an established leader in Canadian limnology and is currently the co-director of the Groupe de Recherche Interuniversitaire en Limnologie et Environnement Aquatique (GRIL) and has been instrumental in organizing annual meetings, collaborative research projects, and providing access to critical infrastructure for limnological research. The research that has emerged from GRIL is renowned across Canada and globally.

La gagnante du prix Rigler 2023 est Docteure Beatrix Beisner, une professeure à l'Université du Québec à Montréal. Ses recherches se concentrent sur l'écologie des communautés planctoniques, avec des thèmes de recherche comprenant la biodiversité et l'écologie des invasions. Au cours de sa carrière scientifique, Docteure Beisner a entraîné 14 boursiers postdoctoraux, 24 étudiants en doctorat et 28 étudiants en maîtrise et a publié plus de 100 articles révisés par des pairs qui ont eu un impact considérable dans le domaine de la limnologie. Les contributions les plus importantes du Docteure Beisner comprennent des travaux sur la dynamique des communautés aquatiques en relation avec les changements climatiques et l'application de l'écologie fonctionnelle aux communautés planctoniques. Son article sur les états stables alternatifs en écologie (Beisner et al. 2003) a été particulièrement cité dans toutes les disciplines. Docteure Beisner est chef de file établi en limnologie canadienne et est actuellement co-directrice du Groupe de Recherche Interuniversitaire en Limnologie et Environnement Aquatique (GRIL). Elle a joué un rôle essentiel dans l'organisation des réunions annuelles, des projets de recherche en collaboration et a fourni l'accès à l'infrastructure critique pour la recherche en limnologie. La recherche réalisée par le GRIL est reconnue au Canada et dans le monde entier. Félicitations Bea !


Frank H. Rigler


The Frank H. Rigler Award was first presented in 1984 to recognize and honour major achievements in the field of limnology by Canadians or those working in Canada. Emphasis in selection is given to established aquatic scientists with a proven record of contribution to the field of aquatic sciences, and whose work is widely recognized for its influence and importance. The winner of the award will give an overview on their research during the plenary session of the Society of Canadian Aquatic Sciences annual meeting and will receive complimentary registration at the meeting and a one-year membership with the Society. 

Frank Harold Rigler (1928-1982) was an accomplished aquatic biologist who helped shape the field of limnology in Canada. He was a professor at the University of Toronto (1957-1976) and Professor and Chair of the Biology Department at McGill University (1976-1982).

For more details on his life and career please see:                  

Peters, R.H. 1983.

Obituary for Frank Harold Rigler.
Can. J. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 40: 252.


A nomination for the Frank Rigler Award shall consists of:

1.  A cover letter, not to exceed two pages in length (single-spaced, 12-pt Times New Roman font, 1-inch margins), describing clearly how the nominee has made a lasting contribution to the field of limnology, either as a Canadian citizen abroad or to the field of limnology in Canada. Contributions that should be highlighted in the nomination can include (but are not limited to) evidence of work that has a scope that is both broad and of high-impact; evidence of work that has directly influenced aquatic science policy, and major public outreach initiatives involving the candidate that increase awareness regarding the importance of freshwater resources to Canadians. The cover letter must also confirm the nominee’s commitment to attend the upcoming society meeting and, if selected, present the Rigler lecture.

2.  A CV covering the applicant’s full scientific career that highlights employment history, publication record, funding held, contributions to training of students, invited lectures and contributions to public outreach, honours and prizes, and journal editorships and reviewing.

3.  Nominations should be sent to the Awards Chair (Caleb Hasler, by May 15, each year.


2023  Beatrix Beisner

2022 – Sherry Schiff

2021 – Karen Kidd

2020 – Brian Cumming

2019 – Bernadette Pinel-Alloul

2018 – Anthony Ricciardi

2017 – Jules Blais

2016 – William D.Taylor

2015 – Daniel E. Schindler

2014 – Frances Pick

2013 – Ray Hesslein

2012 – Paul del Giorgio

2011 – Hugh MacIsaac

2010 – Joseph Rasmussen

2009 – Carol A. Kelly and William M. Rudd

2008 – William (Bill) Keller

2007 – Peter Leavitt

2006 – Robert Hecky

2005 – Yves Prairie

2004 – W. G. (Gary) Sprules

2003 – Derek Muir

2002 – Jack Valentyne

2001 – Peter Dillon

2000 – David Lean

1999 – Everett Fee

1998 – Norman Yan

1997 – Andre Tessier

1996 – Dolores Planas

1995 – John P. Smol

1994 – Ellie E. Prepas

1993 – Robert H. Peters

1992 – Warrick F. Vincent

1991 – No Award

1990 – Kasimierz Patalas

1989 – Jaap Kalff

1988 – Jerome O. Nriagu

1987 – Thomas G. Northcote

1986 – Richard A. Vollenweider

1985 – No Award

1984 – D.W. Schindler

COPYRIGHT © 2022 Society of Canadian Aquatic Sciences


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software