Log in
Log in


2023 Peters Award Recipient

Graydon McKee

The winner of the 2023 Peters Award is Graydon McKee, a recent graduate from Lakehead University. Graydon’s paper titled, “Alternative migratory strategies related to life history differences in the walleye (Sander vitreus)” was published in Movement Ecology (McKee et al. 2022). In the words of Graydon’s nominator, “Graydon’s work stands to make a significant contribution to understanding the inherent variation that exists within managed populations like fisheries, indicating that management strategies targeted at “a population” without recognizing this variation is unlikely to succeed, or alternatively, only potentially benefit one fraction of the population”.

Le gagnant du prix Peters 2023 est Graydon McKee, récemment diplômé de l'Université Lakehead. L'article de Graydon est intitulé " Stratégies migratoires alternatives liées aux différences de cycle biologique chez le doré jaune (Sander vitreus) " et a été publié dans le journal Movement Ecology en 2022. Selon la personne qui a proposé la candidature de Graydon, "le travail de Graydon contribuera de manière substantielle à la compréhension de la variation inhérente qui existe chez les populations régulées par les pêcheries, indiquant que les stratégies de régulation visant "une population" sans tenir compte de cette variation peuvent être inefficaces ou, au contraire, de ne profiter qu'à une fraction de la population".


Robert Henry Peters (1946 - 1996)
Photo of Robert Henry Peters at Lago d'Orta

The Robert H. Peters Award recognizes the best aquatic sciences paper published in the preceding year by a Canadian student or a student working in Canada. The student must be an undergraduate or graduate student and must be first author on the publication.

The value of the award is $500 and a complimentary one-year membership to the Society of Canadian Aquatic Sciences. The award is presented at the annual Society meeting at which time the awardee presents a summary of their paper.

Robert Henry Peters was an accomplished aquatic ecologist who made novel contributions to limnology, particularly in the fields of phosphorus cycling and predictive ecology. He spent most of his career as a Professor in the Department of Biology at McGill University (1974-1996). To learn more about Peters life and impact in freshwater science, here are some additional resources:

Kalff, J. 1996. Obituary for Robert Henry Peters. Can. J. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 53:1692-1694.

Pace, M.L. and P. delGiorgio. 1996. In Memoriam Dr. Robert H. Peters. Mar. Ecol. Prog. Ser. 142:1.

delGiorgio, P., Y. Prairie and M.L. Pace. 1997. Robert H. Peters honored with ASLO’s citation for scientific excellence. ASLO Bulletin 6(1):23-25. (Copyright 1997 by the American Society of Limnology and Oceanography, Inc.)

Downing, J.A. 1997. In Memorium: Robert Henry Peters (1946-1996). ASLO Bulletin 6(1):25-27. 

This award is facilitated by the generous
donations of our membership. Please donate!


1.  A paper can be considered for the Peters’ Award if it is published within the time period of one year prior to the deadline for nominations, and the first author is a student or has recently graduated. A paper is considered “published” once it is posted on-line by the journal or appears in hardcopy, whichever occurs first. A single body of work may only be considered for nomination once.

2. The nomination consists of a submission of the paper, typically from the student’s supervisor. Nominations may be accompanied by a cover letter (not to exceed one page, single-spaced, 12-pt Times New Roman font, 1-inch margins) outlining the quality, importance, and impact of the paper.

3. Nominations should be sent to the Awards Chair (Caleb Hasler, by May 15, each year.


2023 –– Graydon McKee

2022 ––  Joanna Gauthier

2021 – Madison Bell and Matthew Duda

2020 – Kyra A. St. Pierre

2019 – Marie-Eve Monchamp

2018 – Matthew Guzzo

2017 – Jaime Summers and Daniel Grégoire

2016 – Matt Bogard

2015 – Sophie Chiasson-Gould

2014 – Dominic Vachon

2013 – Zofia Taranu

2012 – Jennifer Korosi

2011 – Henry F. Wilson

2010 – Adam Jeziorski

2009 – Jason Venkiteswaran

2008 – Mark Graham

2007 – Greg Silsb

COPYRIGHT © 2022 Society of Canadian Aquatic Sciences


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software